Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft > Press and Media > 2004

Research News 2004 
Dec Nov Oct Sep Aug Jul Jun May Apr Mar Feb Jan 
Editorial Team
Earlier Issues

   
 Lower-cost anti-tumor drug from yew needles

Natural sources of the active principle used in the cancer drug Taxol® are limited, and its chemical synthesis is complicated. A precursor can be produced simply and at low cost using an enzyme membrane reactor. The raw material is an extract derived from yew needles. more info
  
 Link: download picture
   
 Metallic dust in the lungs

Air pollution and inhalation of dust are known to cause or aggravate respiratory diseases. For the first time in Germany, researchers have proven that not only the quantity of dust particles in human lungs but also the amount of metal they contain is a significant causal factor. more info
  
 Link: download picture
   
 Delivering drugs to the cochlea

Hearing problems afflict almost one in five of the German population. Acute cases are often treated by means of infusions, but only a fraction of the medication reaches the inner ear. By simulating drug transport in the cochlea, the efficiency of local application can be improved. more info
  
 Link: download picture
   
 Audio books with watermarks

Hard times are on the way for Internet pirates. Portal providers are now using digital watermarks to protect their audio data. When an audio book is downloaded, invisible marks are embedded in the file as a permanent code identifying the legitimate purchaser. more info
  
 Link: download picture
   
 A fine scattering of chocolate powder

A special processing technique transforms melted chocolate into fine, snow-like powder. What makes it unique is that liquid aromas can be encapsulated in the globules of chocolate – even though these particles are only a few micrometers in diameter. more info
  
 Link: download picture
   
 The molding of an angel

Metal components and sculptures can nowadays be replicated faster than ever before. Laser sintering makes it possible to fabricate ceramic molds without requiring a copy of the original. All it takes is a scanned three-dimensional computer model – like that of an angel figure. more info
  
 Link: download picture
   
 The pocket laboratory

Made in Germany, the world’s first fully electric biochip can quickly, reliably and automatically detect pathogens or residual traces of antibiotics. For this development, the president of the Federal Republic awarded the German Future Prize to three researchers. more info
  
Redaktion   Publication Team

Editor-in-chief
Franz Miller  franz.miller@zv.fraunhofer.de

Press Release
Dr. rer. nat.  Janine Drexler  janine.drexler@zv.fraunhofer.de
Stefanie Heyduck  stefanie.heyduck@zv.fraunhofer.de
Marion Horn  marion.horn@zv.fraunhofer.de
Beate Koch  beate.koch@zv.fraunhofer.de
Birgit Niesing  birgit.niesing@zv.fraunhofer.de
Isolde Rötzer  isolde.roetzer@zv.fraunhofer.de
Monika Weiner  mweiner@zv.fraunhofer.de

Central Office of Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft
Hansastr. 27c
80686 München
E-Mail presse@zv.fraunhofer.de


   
Linking Policy © 6/2009
Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft
Print Version